The only mining object in the world in continuous operation since medieval times until today. Located 10 km from the centre of Krakow, Wieliczka is one of the best-known and most visited tourist attractions in Poland.

The mine stretches to a depth of 327 meters in 9 levels and is more than 300 km long. The first documents concerning the production of salt come from 1044. Salt mines belonged to the Polish Kings and by the 14th century contributed 30% of the state's income.

The tourist route is 3.5 kilometers long and leads through over twenty chambers and chapels with traces of salt extraction preserved. The most beautiful chapel is the St. Kinga chapel, situated 101 meters under the ground.

Since 1961 there is a Museum in a depth of 135 m and in the 5th level (211 m of depth) a sanatorium, where chronic allergic diseases are treated. Besides, Wieliczka Salt Mine host a number of different sport and cultural events Wieliczka Salt Mine is placed on UNESCO World Heritage List.   The easiest way of getting to Wieliczka from Krakow’s center is by suburban train or minibus.

Wieliczka  Salt Mine